Stages of Critical Thinking

Stages of Critical ThinkingPart 1: Stages of Critical ThinkingComplete the matrix by identifying the four beginning stages of critical thinking as detailed in Critical Thinking.Stages of critical thinking Stage description
Stage 1:
The Unreflective Thinker Unreflective thinking is unaware of the assumptions being made, and unable to analyze thought. Reactive decision making based on emotions and beliefs dominate this stage of thinking. Judgements of ”good” or “bad” are made without questioning the larger implications of doing so. (Paul 29)
Stage 2:
The Challenged Thinker The Challenged Thinker begins to notice the thought process as an integral part of how decisions are made, and recognizes that improving thinking is a necessary but difficult undertaking. The danger of this stage is resisting this realization, and reverting to a rationalization of one’s own self-deceptions. (Paul 30)
Stage 3:
The Beginning Thinker The Beginning Thinker starts to become a true thinker about thinking. Recognizing the role one’s beliefs and outside influences have shaped our thinking, reflection allows for a shifting of values. This stage allows one to view other perspectives and develop confidence in reason and humility in thought. (Paul 35)
Stage 4:
The Practicing Thinker To become a Practiced Thinker, one must develop new habits of thinking and consistently put them into practice. Building upon each learned skill creates a foundation of strategic thinking and problem solving. Honing interdependent skills and routines develop critical thinking in much the same way an athlete improves into an expert player. (Paul 36)
Part 2: Your ThinkingWrite a 75- to 150-word explanation of your current level of critical-thinking development, and explain why you placed yourself at that stage.
My current level of critical thinking development
I have developed into a Practicing Thinker, though in others I still retain characteristics of…